At the CEPS, an interdisciplinary team of committed researchers and passionate organizers work together. Get to know the team members and their specific research interests. 



Prof. Dr. Georg von Schnurbein

Director CEPS, Professor of Philanthropy Studies, Faculty of Business and Economics, University of Basel



Tel. +41 61 207 34 63

Managing Director


Maria Clotilde Henzen

Managing Director and Coordinator Executive Education

Tel. +41 61 207 56 30

Research and Executive Education


Dr. Elisabeth Hasse 

Head Executive Education

Tel. +41 61 207 28 53



Dr. phil. Dominik Meier

Senior Researcher / PostDoc

Research Interests: Social preferences, crowdfunding, contribution of NPOs to the SDGs, text analysis

Research Assistants


Muriel Grassmann, MSc in BWL Public & Nonprofit Management

PhD candidate, Faculty of Business and Economics, University of Basel

Tel. +41 61 207 56 26


Kinga Szofia Horvath, MA in Philanthropic Studies

PhD candidate, Faculty of Business and Economics, University of Basel

Tel. +41 61 207 23 99

Research Interests: Global philanthropy, cross-border donations


Omar Hussein, MSc in Computer Science

Junior Developer

Tel. +41 61 207 67 45

Research Interests: Philanthropic data science, AI for the non-profit sector


Lucca Nietlispach, MA in Business Innovation

PhD candidate, Faculty of Business and Economics, University of Basel

Tel. +41 61 207 34 60

Research Interests: Social Innovation, Social Entrepreneurship, Impact Investing


Anja Rogenmoser, MA in Cultural Studies with Major in History

PhD candidate, Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences, University of Basel

Tel. +41 61 207 56 27

Research Interests: History of philanthropy, corporate foundations

Associate Researcher


Dr. rer. pol. Oto Potluka

Senior Researcher



Tel. +41 61 207 28 40

Research Interests: Partnerships between Nonprofits and Public Administrations

Secretariat & Administration


Anita Spiess

Secretariat and Seminar Administration

Tel. +41 61 207 23 92


Janine Rossberg

Finances and administration

Tel. +41 61 207 34 56


Student Assistants


Lorjeta Dina

cand. BA in Economics

Tel. +41 61 207 56 28



Stefano Rentsch

cand. BA in Economics

Tel.: +41 61 207 64 33

Dr. rer. pol. Nicholas Arnold, former research assistant, 

Felix Bartos, former student assistant,

Manvi Bhatia, former research assistant,

Dr. Steffen Bethmann, former research associate,

Stella Bützer, former student assistant,

Patrizia Egloff, former student assistant,

Lia Ferrini, former student assistant,

Julia Fischer, former student assistant,

Dr. rer. pol. Tizian Fritz, former research assistant,

Dr. phil. Theresa Gehringer, former research assistant,

Carina Greussing, former research assistant,

Christina Gut, former student assistant,

Vanessa Heiniger, former student assistant,

Dr. Alice Hengevoss, former research assistant,

Dr. rer. pol. Sophie Hersberger, former research associate,

Milena Jankovic, former student assistant,

Marianne Käch, former student assistant,

Dr. iur. Jonas Kipfer-Berger, former research associate,

Mia Kirsch, former student assistant,

Simone Leibundgut, former research assistant,

Anne Mayer, Internship,

Martina Merkle, former secretariat,

Leea Moser, former student assistant,

Dr. Marybel Perez, former senior researcher,

Justine Portenier, former student assistant,

Lucas Rizzo-Arrivillaga, former research associate

Mira Röseler, former research assistant,

Robert Schmuki, former head of executive education,

Dr. Daniela Schönenberg, former research assistant,

Damian Schweighauser, former research assistant

Nour Shokry, former student assistant,

Michèle Spring, former student assistant,

Thomas Starzynski, former research associate,

Sabrina Stöckli, former research assistant,

Dr. rer. pol. Sibylle Studer, former research assistant,

Dr. rer. pol. Sara Stühlinger, former research assistant,

Noam Suissa, former research assistant,

Leonore Wenzel, administration,

Rebecca Wirbel, former student assistant,

Dr. Rafael Wyser, former research assistant,